January 3, 2024

2023 (Brief) Year in Review

Die with Zero was the best book I read this year. Most people are worried about saving too little for retirement, but the author makes the case that some people save TOO MUCH and thus waste time working and saving. It really made me think about how, and when, we should spend our money.

Heavyweight is still the best podcast around. Screw Spotify for cancelling it, but I am confident they’ll find a new, better home. Lenny was probably my favorite episode of the most recent season.

My Hudski Doggler bike was my best purchase this year. I didn’t get to ride it much before it got cold, but I am looking forward to putting a few hundred miles on it this year (at least), hopefully more. If all goes well I will pedal it across the entire Katy Trail this year.

My Wordle streak made it through all of 2023 unscathed. Currently at 396 and 100% win % (rounded up obviously).

The Bear, season 2 was probably my favorite show of the year, definitely top 3. Forks (all about Rich/Cousin) was my favorite episode by far.

Letters from an American is such a good blog. I feel smarter after reading it and Heather Cox Richardson’s summaries are one of the first things I read every morning.

Skiing in Breckenridge was my favorite trip this year, albeit too short. I just freaking love the mountains so much. I was pretty burned out at the end of the year before we left, so it was a perfect time to get away.

Going to Orange Beach, AL was fun also. I’m glad we got to do both trips with my brother and his family. It makes it that much more special to share good memories with family.

I tell everyone I can about the empanadas at Tango Argentinian. Definitely will be back in 2024.

Summer Fridays was a fun new tradition this year. Our office was closed on Friday from roughly June-August and with Stef being out of school we decided to do a tour of local breakfast/coffee places on Friday mornings. Favorites include Upshot Coffee, Frontier Perk Cafe and Picasso’s on Main Street.

A made varsity soccer his sophomore season at FHN. He didn’t play as much as he’d hoped, but it was so great for him to achieve a goal he’s had for so long and be able to line up next to his cousin for his senior season.

S has made great progress of her own on the soccer field. I think she is also driven to play in high school and took it upon herself to do some solo training several nights a week during the fall season.

The Blues didn’t do much of anything this year, except fire their Stanley Cup winning Coach Berube recently. Not good times. They have some youngsters coming up that are supposed to be good, we shall see.

Manchester City had a freaking amazing year on the other hand. Haaland came in and dominated. Premier League, Champions League, Club World Cup, they won a lot of trophies. About the only downside is my favorite player, Kevin de Bruyne has been hurt off and on.

Financially we hit another milestone in net worth, so that’s cool I guess. The stock market was bonkers in December so that definitely helped.

I worked way too much last year. For the first time ever I didn’t use all my vacation time. It showed (see above re: burnout). Hopefully the changes we are doing work out. If not I may have to do something bigger.

I still want to take a sabbatical at some point soon.

The 7 weeks on/1 week off schedule I’ve read about is also very tempting. Kinda like the cycle” schedule Francis Howell schools used to do. I may experiment with it this year. What the hell.