September 8, 2023

A Tale of Two Pens

I have been using a Pentel Energel 0.7mm for a long time. It writes smoothly and overall I had no complaints.

But a few weeks ago I read a review for a Zebra G-450 pen, liked what I read and thought, what the heck, let’s try it out.

Rather than review both pens, I am going to compare what I like and don’t like about the Zebra compared to the Pentel.

The Zebra was described as a tactical” pen, which I usually cringe at, but in this case I do like that it is made of metal and heavier than the Pentel. Going back to the plastic Pentel after writing with the Zebra G-450 makes the Pentel feel extraordinarily cheap.

The Zebra writes very smooth. The ink flows well and dries quickly. It is slightly better than the Pentel, but not significantly so.

On the downside, the Zebra pen is on the slim side in comparison and has taken some getting used to. The smaller size is a plus overall and I think if I had started with the Zebra, I probably wouldn’t notice the difference as much.

The biggest issue I had is the ink ran out extremely fast with the Zebra. Like, I bought a two pack at the end of July and already have a refill in. I was shocked when the first pen stopped writing. I’m not sure if it was just the ink that came with the original pen or if this will be the same on the refill, but definitely something to keep an eye on.

I am going to keep using the Zebra G-450 for now and relegate my handful of Pentel Energels to the family pen supply, backup pens, or in my car for emergencies.