July 16, 2023

Defining Success

When I was young(er) I thought money = success. Nice cars, houses, stuff.

Now that I am older and hopefully wiser, I define success as being able to do what you want to do along with all the stuff you have to do.

For example, the last few years I have not really prioritized doing things for myself. With kids’ activities, errands, work, cooking meals, and other family obligations, I just put it off. Despite having a good job with flexible work schedule, house, my dream car, etc. I didn’t feel very successful.

This year I have made it a point to schedule time for myself - mostly going on 10-20 mile bike rides. It’s a short enough time, a couple hours at most, to fit in even on a day with other activities, but long enough to feel worthwhile and not just to check a box.

It’s amazing how being mindful about your priorities, even just a couple hours a day, can make a difference.