January 1, 2023

Taking Inventory - December 2022

  1. Good holiday season with family. We celebrated w/my parents early since my brother and his family were heading to Colorado to celebrate with in-laws.

  2. After Christmas we went skiing at Copper Mountain. It was awesome. We had a ski-in/ski-out” condo that was really close to the slopes and village with restaurants, shops, etc. A tried snowboarding but quickly switched to skis which worked out great. By the second day he was out there flying. S tried snowboarding also, did one fast run down the hill and fell, and I think got a little scared, then wasn’t feeling well the rest of the trip.

    The second day of skiing we found some beginner friendly slopes on the west side of the mountain that were more our speed. I skied about 10 miles that day and set a new exercise record with over 300 minutes! Let’s freaking go!!!

    Unfortunately, we ended up leaving Thursday night (we planned to leave early Friday) and driving down to Denver because of her (and my) headaches & high heart rates - probably dehydration, possibly altitude sickness. Driving down the mountain after snow, in the dark, wasn’t my favorite idea, but we made it safely.

  3. A started club soccer season with a tournament in early December and won their last game 1-0. They lost the first two that weekend, but progressively got better. Not bad for a team with a lot of new players.

  4. The Dolphins have been enjoying indoor soccer, winning one, tying 2 games and learning to play more quickly. It moves pretty fast and they have improved each game, I think. The last game before the holidays we played a good club team and held them scoreless the first half.

  5. Looking back at 2022, it has been a pretty good year. We traveled A LOT which was awesome. We gained a new niece, but lost my mother-in-law to cancer.

    Personally, I didn’t do as much for myself as I planned or wanted to, so that remains a priority for 2023. I’m looking forward to more exploration and new experiences.