November 2, 2023

October 2023 Inventory

Here’s what’s going on in my world:

-St Louis Blues started their season, though they are looking very inconsistent so far.

-St Louis CITY SC finished first overall in the western conference in their first season and started their first ever playoff run with a resoundingly bad 1-4 loss to Sporting Kansas. Great season, hopefully it doesn’t end after 2 games.

-In local sports, the Dolphins finished third overall in SCCYSA regular season and followed that up with a third place finish in the playoffs. Very consistent! We started slow, but finished very well, winning 5 of our last 7 games.

-FHN is in District play, beating Pattonville 8-0 (mercy rule) and play a tough game against John Burroughs on 11/2.

-My new bike arrived on Halloween - fitting since it is orange :)

-Made it through our 10/15 extended deadline fairly smoothly. I am ready for a break, or at least to slow down a bit. Thankfully we are closing the office on Fridays for November. Just praying for nice weather so I can get out and enjoy it.

-I did a fun 13 mile bike ride on my first Friday off - the Weldon Spring Loop. I started at The Mound” and went west on the Hamburg Trail, which was new to me. Hamburg Trail meets up with the Katy Trail which then meets up with the Busch Greenway spur - a mostly paved trail uphill and through the Research Park office complex. It then follows Hwy 94 back to the Weldon Spring Site. Just for fun I put the bike away and hiked to the top of the Mound for some nice views of St Charles County.

-For our 18th anniversary Stef and I had dinner at Noto which was very good. I can’t wait to go back and try another pizza. I had the short rib rigatoni this time and shared a tiramisu for dinner, which was AMAZING.

-Went to work and passed out candy on Halloween, froze my butt off. We didn’t have too many at home, probably 8-10 groups of kids.