May 29, 2024

Bike Ride 2024 #1

One of my goals this year is to ride my bike more than last year. In 2023 I rode about 320 miles. 350 would be good this year, or about 10% more.

I finally got out on my first ride of the year (I know, so late in the year) this Monday. I went about 24 miles in just over 2 hours (not counting rest stops) from my house to the Weldon Spring Trailhead on the Katy Trail and back to the Greensbottom Trailhead.

I opted to get a ride home because my knees were very sore. I definitely pushed it too far for my first ride. I wasn’t planning to go that far, but my pedal was getting loose and knew the Weldon Spring Trailhead had a public tool kit/bike station. So I was able to tighten it there and get back on the road, though it’s still messed up I think.

It was a beautiful day, in the 70s, low humidity and not super busy on the trail.

Wildlife count:

Progress: 24/350 miles or about 7%